Flyspray is proudly sponsored by The Veloz Group

Notifications

Overview

Sometimes you need to know what is happening with a task, even if you're not the one currently working on it. That is where notifications are helpful. To receive a notification when a task has been modified or had something added to it, click the Watch this task button beneath a task's details. Later if you decide that you no longer want to be notified about changes to a particular task, click the Stop watching this task button.

To add yourself to the notification list of many tasks at once, return to the task list. At the immediate left of every task is a checkbox, and at the bottom of the task list is a dropdown list of actions, and the Take Action button.

massops.jpg

To see which tasks currently have you on the notification list, select Tasks I Watch from the Project Selector drop-down.

The Notifications Tab

Note: This paragraph describes functionality that can only be accessed by the Project Manager or a member of the global Admin group.

notiftab.jpg

Shown is a list of users who are currently “watching” this task. When anything changes in the task (task details modified, comments or attachments added etc), Flyspray sends out a short notification message to each person on the list, letting them know what the changes or additions are. Notifications are sent using email or Jabber instant messaging, using the email/jabber address in each user's profile. Usually each user can choose their preferred method of notification, but it can be over-ridden in the global options dialog. Users should ensure that the notification addresses in their profile are correct, as Flyspray will not complain if they are wrong.

To add a user to the notification list for a task, simply select them in the dropdown list, and click the Add to list button. To remove a user, click the Remove link next to their name.

Tips

  • Notifications are never sent to the user making the change. The user already knows what action they made, so Flyspray doesn't fill their inbox with information they already know.
  • Notifications are always sent to the person who has been assigned the task, regardless of whether they are on the task's notification list or not. Of course, this doesn't over-ride the previous tip - if the assignee makes a change, they don't receive the notification.


Technical Information

Adding to notification list: The dropdown list for adding users to the notification list does not contain every user registered on your Flyspray installation. The list only contains users who are members of your Project groups, as well as users in global groups defined as “can be assigned tasks” in the global options. This is done by the ListUsers() function, in includes/functions.inc.php

Database tables: Users to be notified are listed in the {$dbprefix}_notifications table.

Standard Notification Triggers: These are the times when a notification is sent to those on a task's notification list:

  • Task details changed
  • Task closed
  • Task re-opened
  • Dependency added
  • Dependency removed
  • Comment added (adding a note if any files were attached)
  • Related task added
  • Taken ownership (user assigned a task to themself)
  • New assignee. If a user is assigned a task, so they need to know.


Special Notification Triggers:

  • New task opened (category owner is notified)
  • Someone requested a Project Manager to action something on a certain task. These notifications are sent to everyone in the project who is in a group with the Manage Project permission.
  • Project Manager denied request. If a PM denies the above request, everyone on the notification list receives the notification.
  • Sending a confirmation code for a new user signup.
  • Sending a user a “magic URL” so that they can change their password.

Personal Tools